Today’s game. April 6, 2010.
We are in the bottom of the second inning right now.
But I want to talk about the first.
It seemed that in the bottom of it all went wrong (again) between AJ Burnett and Jorge Posada.
Not so fast, my friends!
The throwing error on Posada was definitely a huge mistake that nobody (at least our “3 commentating musketeers” – Michael Kay, Ken Singleton and Al Leiter) noticed. Yeah, Jorge threw off line. At first I thought the ball hit the umpire.
On the replay I saw it – the 2nd base umpire was straight in the line of sight between Jorge and Cano! In the infield! What the hell was he doing there? Even if Posada would have thrown the ball on the money – he would have hit him! I am sure our catcher is having a long screaming dialog with the umpire – in his head, though.
So there is an error and it should be on Rob Drake! Too bad the “human element” cannot be penalized during the game!